Port Commissioners




Current Term,
January 1, 2014 -
December 31, 2019

Commissioner Peter Swant, District 1 - Commissioner Swant is serving his first term on the Port Commission. His District encompasses more than half of the City of Walla Walla and the stateline area. Peter is a real estate agent for Windermere Real Estate. He has consistently been one of the top selling agents in the Walla Walla Valley. He also worked 29 years in his family grocery store business, "Wade's Red Apple Market". Peter has also been an active volunteer in the community.

  • Past President of W.W. Association of Realtors
  • Past Chair Levy for W.W. Public Schools
  • Past Chair of Realtor Food Drive
  • Past President of the Big Blue Boosters

E-mail Peter Swant

MFredrickson Current Term,
January 1, 2018 -
December 31, 2023
Commissioner Mike Fredrickson, District 2 - Commissioner Fredrickson has served as a Port Commissioner since January 2006 and represents District 2, which includes the eastern third of the City of Walla Walla, Dixie, Waitsburg and Prescott areas.  Commissioner Fredrickson is a 1988 graduate of Walla Walla High School and a 1992 graduate of Washington State University with a BS degree in Agri-Business.  He served 8 years on the Walla Walla County Planning Commission (5 years as Chairman).  Commissioner Fredrickson is a certified general real estate appraiser and is co-owner of Associated Appraisers located in Walla Walla.

E-mail Mike Fredrickson

RonDunning Current Term,
January 1, 2016 -
December 31, 2021
Commissioner Ron Dunning, District 3 - Commissioner Dunning is currently serving his first term on the Port of Walla Walla Commission.  He represents District #3 in the Western portion of Walla Walla County, which includes the communities of College Place, Touchet, Lowden, Burbank, Eureka and Clyde. Commissioner Dunning is owner of Dunning Irrigation in Touchet and a related irrigation supply store in Nassa, Oregon.  He is also co-owner of Touchet Seed & Energy, an oil-seed crusher for biofuels.  Commissioner Dunning is a member of the Touchet-Gardena Lions Club and a founder of the Touchet Education Foundation.  He attended Columbia Basin College.

E-mail Ron Dunning

 Role of Port Commission

The Port of Walla Walla Commissioners set policy, direction and approve all expenditures of the Port.  Each Commissioner serves a six-year term.  Terms are staggered.  One position is up for election every two years. While all Commissioners are elected on a county-wide basis, each must live in a specific Commissioner District within Walla Walla County.  Commissioners decide each year who will hold the offices of president, vice president and secretary.  Commissioners are responsible for appointing the Executive Director and hiring the Port Attorney.  Commissioners receive $114 per day compensation for each day spent attending meetings or performing other services on behalf of the Port.  State law limits such compensation to no more than $10,944 per year.  In addition, Port Commissioners receive a salary of $750 per month.  Port Commission meetings are open to the public and are normally held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month.  On the 2nd Thursday of each month the meeting starts at 6:00PM, and on the 4th Thursday of each month the meeting starts at 1:00PM.  Port Commission Meetings are held at  the Port Administrative office, 310 A Street, Walla Walla, Washington, unless otherwise stated in the agenda.

 Contact Information

Peter Swant
202 S. 1st Ave.
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Ph. (509)525-2151
Fax (509)529-2717
Mike Fredrickson
2 W. Main St.
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Ph. (509)522-2272
Fax (509)529-5821
Ron Dunning
1078 Gardena Creek Rd.
Touchet, WA 99360
Ph. (509)529-6043
Fax (509)529-6044

 2019 Port Commission Assignments

2019 Port Commission Assignments and Liaison Assignments

 Port Commission Decision Making Process

 A resolution adopting rules governing the transaction of its business at regular and special meetings

 Port of Walla Walla Commissioner District Maps

College Place/City of Walla Walla Area Map
PWWDistrict Map WW CP
Countywide Map
PWWDistrict Map County
Download: JPG | PDF Download: JPG | PDF